Re: Kirsty and John and Rock Albums (Jan. 25, 2001)

[In response to a group member who commented on my previous post)

I can see your point about Lennon’s early solo work and can admit that it has its merits, and it’s certainly better than the stuff he put out in his last year. And who am I to say that Lennon wouldn’t have rediscovered his better muse at the age of 45 or 48 or 52, had he lived. But while I can respect this music, I still don’t relate to it on a personal level the way I do to Kirsty or some other artists. I don’t know how old you are, but your tastes obviously run to classic rock and mine skew more towards punk/power pop/alternative stuff (Ramones, Buzzcocks, Pistols, Fastbacks, Revillos, Blondie, Jane Siberry, the Pretenders, Sinead O’Connor), along with garage rock, Coltrane and McCoy Tyner, some classical music, and throw in the Beach Boys, Buddy Holly and early Beatles too.

I wrote my last post in the heat of grief over Kirsty‘s death, which prompted a depth of feeling in me that I couldn’t have been more surprised by myself (I was moved enough to fly to her memorial service in London last weekend, which was something I’ll never forget), and while I stand by my opinions I can perhaps see that yoking her and Lennon together in the same post was motivated mostly by my anger about her overlooked status in the music world vs. Lennon’s overrated and sanctified ‘Double Fantasy.’ If I was writing it now, I’d leave the Lennon criticism for another day.

(While I’m at it, I’d like to correct a couple of things in my prior post: Kirsty was divorced at the time of her death but left a partner behind, and the correct title of the song is ‘There’s A Guy Works Down The Chip Shop Swears He’s Elvis’. Quiz on this later on.)

Leave a Reply

